I found this crazy recipe on Pinterest to make caramel in the microwave.
I love love love caramel. Did I mention love??
Anyway, even though I’m not a huge fan of the microwave I thought I’d give it a try for time savers sake.
Of course all of the ingredients I used were 100% organic even though this is a sweet non-nutritional valued food.

The recipe goes something like this:

One cup of butter melted in a microwave safe dish for 1 1/2minutes.
After that you add in:
1 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
1 can sweetened condensed milk

Mix these all together and then stick back in the micro for 5 minutes on high.

IMG_6835.JPG

IMG_6832.JPG

After that mix well and put back in the micro for another 5 minutes on high.
Mix again and the 3 more minutes on high.
Mix one more time and put in a 9×13
To set up.

IMG_6836.JPG

Now, truth be told I nuked it for 4.5 mins, 4.5 mins and then 4 for the total of 13 minutes it says it required.

I had to do a little google search about how long “set up” is and at what temp since the recipe didn’t specify.
Apparently cool temp not a fridge and overnight is recommended.

We made it about 5 hours before diving in!

IMG_6841.JPG

IMG_6842.JPG

They are delicious and I would totally do this again.
I will probably cook an extra 2 minute interval or so to see if it changes the softness at all. These turned out soft and creamy and I wonder if I cook it a little longer if they will firm up.
Other than that they work if you don’t have the time, candy thermometer and patience for yummy caramel.

UPDATE:
Second batch made, super delicious and yes I added another 2 minutes.
It made all the difference in the world to firm them up.
The original recipe states 13 minutes but my micro power needs 15.
I also added a splash of vanilla extract.
I may try different flavors next time. Maybe peanut butter caramel or pumpkin caramel or cinnamon. Maybe a couple dashes of cocoa, hmmmm the possibilities are endless.

IMG_6850.JPG

